The bands have signed to independents after being dropped by major labels last year...

Shed Seven and Monaco have all signed new, independent record deals after being dropped by major labels last year.

Monaco have signed to Papillon Records, who also recently signed Terrorvision, the home of acts like Bill Wyman and Cliff Richard, while Shed Seven have signed to Artful Records – home to Clint Boon and The Fall.

Monaco frontman Peter Hook told “We obviously had a bit of a setback being dropped by Polydor but seeing as they signed Adam Rickitt (the ex-Coronation Street star) after us I think we got our own back really. So bollocks to them.


“It was a bit like being jilted at the altar because we’d finished the LP and we were waiting for them to bring it out when we parted. It was a bit of a blow and it took us quite a few months for us to get over that, Pottsy and I, but I’ve got confidence in the record and I’m very happy with it and very proud of it.”

The new Monaco album, titled ‘Monaco’ will now be released on August 7, with a single ‘I’ve Got A Feeling’ to come out on July 24.

The tracklisting for the album is ‘I’ve Got A Feeling’, ‘Kashmere’, ‘A Life Apart’, ‘Burt’s Theme’, ‘Careful What You Wish For’, ‘End Of The World’, ‘Marine’, ‘It’s A Boy’ and ‘Black Rain’.

Last year, Monaco nearly lost guitarist David Potts to Oasis, who were considering him for the post of bass player.

Hooky said: “He came to his senses the lad. Oasis have proved that it wouldn’t have been a long-lived gig anyway. I think he’s got enough confidence in Monaco and he’s got his own stuff while I’m pissing about with New Order.”

He also confirmed that New Order have started work on their new album, the long-awaited follow-up to 1993’s ‘Republic’ album. They’re working with producer Steve Osborne at Rockfield Studios in Wales and hope to release it summer next year.


Now signed to Artful Records, Shed Seven have been rehearsing and writing in their York studios where, next month, they will re-unite with producer Chris Sheldon (who worked with the band on the ‘Maximum High’ LP) to start work on the new album. New song titles include ‘Feathers’, ‘Cry For Help’, ‘If The Music Don’t Move Yer’.

The band say that after spending seven years on a major label, they have opted for an independent because it gives them complete artistic control as well as financial support.

“There are only four people at the company so there shouldn`t be anyone smoking cigars and stamping in the background,” says bass player Tom Gladwin.

The band play Carling Weekend Festival at Reading (August 25) and Leeds (28), and will release a single in September with an album following in 2001.

To check out the latest festival news, visit‘s Festival Site – Click here.

For tickets ring the NME 24-Hour Ticketline on 0870 1 663663. Calls are charged at national standard rate.

You May Like