Skepta samples QOTSA on new track ‘Man’ and confirms Pharrell is on his album

'Konnichiwa' is due on May 6

Skepta has revealed new song ‘Man’ and confirmed that Pharrell will appear on his new album ‘Konnichiwa’. ‘Man’ samples Queens Of The Stone Age‘s track ‘Regular John’.

The grime MC’s new album is due out on May 6 with Skepta and Pharrell pictured in the studio together last year. No other artists are confirmed for the album as yet.

Speaking to Zane Lowe about ‘Konnichiwa’ on Apple Music, Skepta explained the pressure he felt making the album and opened up about being in the studio with Pharrell.


“Pharrell loves music,” he told the DJ. “I don’t know how much money he has, or how much he’s trying to make. But I know whatever financial situation he’s in his music is always going to be sick. When I’m in the studio with him it’s like I’m working with someone I’ve known all my life.”

“I knew I had an obligation to represent the country when I did this album. Not just different MCs, but sonically. I know what is on my back with this album and I’ve got every element from London needed. I don’t want to announce the MCs but it’s very well rounded. And Pharrell’s blessed me. People respect him. I don’t think grime has ever been respected, it’s not seen as a nice sound. But having Pharrell bless my album, maybe you can see that the freeness of his music; that’s what we’re doing as well.”

Hear a snippet of the interview below and listen to ‘Man’, Skepta’s brand new song. The full Zane Lowe interview will be broadcast on Monday (April 18).

Other previously released tracks on the album include D Double E and A$AP Nast collaboration ‘Ladies Hit Squad’ as well as ‘Lukey World’, a tribute to close friend Lukey Maxwell who died after being stabbed in London last year.

Last month (March), Skepta said that he had almost finished working on the album which was originally due to come out last year.


The news comes just days after Drake, who recently joined Skepta’s Boy Better Know collective, announced that his album will drop on April 29.