Slaves announce new album ‘Take Control’ featuring Beastie Boys’ Mike D

It's the duo's follow-up to 'Are You Satisfied?'

Slaves have announced details of their new album ‘Take Control’.

Their second full-length, it’ll be released on September 30 via Virgin EMI. The album will follow 2015’s Mercury Prize-nominated ‘Are You Satisfied?’.

The record will feature cameos from Beastie Boys’ Mike D and Baxter Dury. Mike D told NME of working with Slaves: “I feel right now the world needs an album like this. Something that is more raw, more alive and less polished. I was impressed with the band’s strong point of view. They actually speak their minds about social topics.”


“The initial conversation I had with Laurie [Vincent, guitarist]… there were so many influences he mentioned that I love – from the Gang of Four to The Cramps to The Damned to Public Image Ltd to The Slits and on and on. All records that I truly loved and I couldn’t believe he knew all of them so well for a person his age.”

The band have already released one track from the LP, opener ‘Spit It Out’.

The ‘Take Control’ tracklisting is below:


Spit It Out
Consume Or Be Consumed ft. Mike D
Take Control
Mr Industry (Skit)
Rich Man
Play Dead
Fuck The Hi-Hat
Gary (Skit)
People That You Meet
Steer Clear ft. Baxter Dury
Cold Hard Floor
Same Again