Slaves drop epic video for new single ‘Chokehold’ – features members of Royal Blood, Wolf Alice, Blur and more

The new single from the punk duo was premiered on Annie Mac's radio show yesterday (July 30)

Slaves have dropped a new video for their latest single ‘Chokehold’ today (July 31) and it features a host of famous names.

Taken from the duo’s third studio album ‘Acts of Fear and Love’ which is released on August 17, the single follows on from ‘Cut and Run’, released last month.

Their latest video follows a story of rejection as it details what happens to Isaac Holman after the success of ‘Cut & Run’ dance, with Holman now having “left the band” to pursue his dream of being an international dance sensation.

  • Slaves’ ‘Chokehold’ is on the NME Audio playlist. Click here for information on how to tune in to NME1 and NME2

Meanwhile, the other half of Slaves, Laurie Vincent, is left to audition drummers – and what an audition it is.

The hopeful drummers interviewing for a spot in the band include Royal Blood’s Ben Thatcher, Joel Amey from Wolf Alice, Peace’s Dom Boyce, The Maccabees’ Sam Doyle, Amber Grimbergen from HINDS and even Blur legend Dave Rowntree.

As well as this, Laurie auditions the Phil Collins loving gorilla from the Dairy Milk advert, a Joey Jordison from Slipknot lookalike and even Yorkshire’s No.1 Peter Criss (from Kiss) lookalike.

Premiering yesterday (July 30) on Annie Mac’s Radio 1 show, the Brit Pop inspired single leans more towards the pop-punk side of the band’s repertoire.

Speaking about the single, Laurie said: “Chokehold’s our attempt at writing a pop love tune…a lot of men have had that feeling of being dumped and not spoken about it.”


Earlier this month, the duo released the track listing for their new album, the follow up to 2016’s ‘Take Control’, together with the album artwork.

Announcing the release of their third studio album earlier this year, the duo said: “Our new album ‘Acts of Fear and Love’ will be released on the 17th of August this year. An album we are so very proud of that we decided to put ourselves on the front cover of it…can’t wait for you lot to hear it.”

They also released a fun video to accompany the release, with Laurie’s son Bart making an appearance.

Speaking to NME earlier this year, Slaves hinted that Wolf Alice’s Ellie Rowsell could feature on their third album. Asked if there were any guests on the record, they replied: “May-beeee.”

Guitarist Laurie Vincent added: “We want to keep it secret, put it out there and if people notice, they notice it more. It might be a bit like when Elastica had Damon Albarn on their record.”

The band have just finished a short run of dates in the UK, playing intimate venues in Colchester, Pontypool, Dunfermline and Dover.

‘Acts of Fear and Love’ track listing: 

1. The Lives They Wish They Had
2. Cut And Run
3. Bugs
4. Magnolia
5. Daddy
6. Chokehold
7. Photo Opportunity
8. Artificial Intelligence
9. Acts Of Fear And Love