Slipknot announce new album ‘.5: The Gray Chapter’

Major North American tour will follow the album's release

Slipknot have announced plans for their fifth studio album, ‘.5: The Gray Chapter’.

The band’s first LP since 2008’s ‘All Hope Is Gone’ will be released on October 20, but is already available to pre-order on iTunes. All pre-orders come with instant downloads of the album’s lead single, ‘The Devil In I’, as well as already released track ‘The Negative One’.

Slipknot have also announced a major North America headline tour. Beginning in El Paso, Texas on October 20 and running until December 7, the ‘Prepare For Hell Tour’ will also feature veteran nu metal band Korn and relative newcomers King 810.


“We’ve been waiting a long time for this,” said the band’s frontman Corey Taylor in a statement. “Not only do we get to tour with friends who we respect, we’ve also chosen a band that represents the fury of the future.”

Earlier this month, Taylor spoke about the creation of the album and how the death of founding member Paul Gray in 2010 and departure of drummer Joey Jordison in 2013 affected the recording.

“It’s been a weird time for this band. There’s a lot about Paul. There’s a lot about ourselves,” said Taylor. “It’s us basically reconvening. We can either die under the weight of life, or… come back and be the Slipknot we know we can be.”

“We were just knocked senseless by the loss of Paul, and then coming to terms with the fact that we had to make a really heavy decision about parting ways with Joe.”

‘.5: The Gray Chapter’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘The Devil In I’
‘The One That Kills The Least’
‘Be Prepared For Hell’
‘The Negative One’
‘If Rain Is What You Want’
‘Override’ (Bonus Track)
‘The Burden’ (Bonus Track)

You May Like