Smashing Pumpkins first single from their new album hits the shops within the fortnight...

Smashing Pumpkins will release the first single from their new album ‘Adore’ on May 18.

The first cut from the long-awaited album is ‘Ava Adore’ and will be backed by ‘Czarini’ on the vinyl seven-inch. CD and cassette versions will include the extra track ‘Once In A While’.

The 15-track ‘Adore’, recorded in Los Angeles and Chicago, is released on June 1 and features the following songs: ‘To Sheila’, ‘Ava Adore’, ‘Perfect’, ‘Daphne Descends’, ‘Once Upon A Time’, ‘Tear’, ‘Crestfallen’, ‘Appels And Oranjes’, ‘Pug’, ‘The Tale Of Dusty And Pistol Pete’, ‘Annie-Dog’, ‘Shame’, ‘Behold! The Nightmare’, ‘For Martha’ and ‘Blank Page’.

It has been announced that Lisa Germano will play violin with the Pumpkins at their London Shepherd’s Bush Empire show on May 23. Kenny Aronoff, John Mellencamp’s longtime drummer, is also playing with the band on live dates.