Smashing Pumpkins to release two new albums in 2015

The group will have a new single out by the end of this year, frontman Billy Corgan confirms

Smashing Pumpkins have announced that they will release two new albums in 2015.

The two new LPs will be titled ‘Monuments To An Elegy’ and ‘Day For Night’ and the band hope to precede them with a new single this year (2014), according to a post written by frontman Billy Corgan on the Smashing Pumpkins’ website.

“For those interested in sound, think: ‘Guitars, guitars, guitars, and more guitars’,” Corgan writes. “But more so on the epic side of things than, say, grossly metallic. Recording sessions begin today, as plenty of songs have been written and ready to go.”

The albums will be produced by Howard Willing, who started working with the band on their 1998 album ‘Adore’.

Fans will be able to follow the recording process on the group’s new website, The Panopticon, where Corgan said they’ll post “song titles, lyrics, poetic impressions, pictures, sound clips, studio gear and the like offered for a circuitous, bird’s eye view of the process as it unfolds”.

Smashing Pumpkins released their ninth album, ‘Oceania’, in 2012.