Smashing Pumpkins’ Billy Corgan accuses Amazon of leaking ‘Adore’ reissue tracklisting

The 107-track version of the 1998 album will be released in September

Smashing Pumpkins frontman Billy Corgan has criticised Amazon for allegedly leaking the tracklisting for the reissue of his band’s 1998 album, ‘Adore’.

It has been revealed that the reissue, which is set for release on September 23, will comprise of 107 tracks on seven discs, featuring demos with Rick Rubin, home recordings, outtakes and live recordings. Corgan has written online that he wished to inform fans of the tracklisting, but has claimed that Amazon broke an agreement and posted the information on their website.

“Amazon decided to break an agreement and post track listing of ADORE first; despite assurances otherwise that asked us to wait,” wrote Corgan on Facebook. “OBVIOUSLY I’ve had the ‘Adore’ tracklist for four months, and could have posted anytime.” He went on to write a more lengthy piece at the official Smashing Pumpkins website, also laying into the current state of the record industry.

“The record business as you already know instinctively is quite bad; and some would say music hasn’t been in such a disadvantageous place in the culture since the selling of commercial music began in the early 1900s,” he commented. “And I for one have been very outspoken about what I would say are harmful business practices, the kind which place artists in an exploitative position visa vie their rights and ownership of their own work.”

He then posted what he said was the full, correct ‘Adore’ reissue tracklisting, which you can read by clicking here.

Amazon had not responded to NME’s requests for comment at time of publication.

Corgan is currently working on two new Smashing Pumpkins albums that the band will release in 2015. The first, which he says is nearly completed, will be ‘Monuments To An Elegy’. The second is likely to be called ‘Day For Night’ and the band hope to precede the LPs with a new single this year.