Smashing Pumpkins announce new album ‘Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun’

Check out new single 'Silvery Sometimes'

Smashing Pumpkins have announced details of their anticipated comeback album ‘Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun’.

The first album to feature founding members Billy Corgan, James Iha, and Jimmy Chamberlin since 2000, the 10th official Pumpkins’ studio album was produced by Rick Rubin and will arrive on November 16 via Napalm Records.

Launching the record with comeback single ‘Solara‘, the band have also shared new track ‘Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)’. Check it out below.

The tracklist for the album is


1. “Knights of Malta”
2. “Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)”
3. “Travels”
4. “Solara”
5. “Alienation”
6. “Marchin’ On”
7. “With Sympathy”
8. “Seek And You Shall Destroy”

The current line-up consists of Corgan, Iha, Chamberlain, longtime collaborator and guitarist Jeff Schroeder and touring bassist Jack Bates – son of Joy Division and New Order legend Peter Hook.

The album and subsequent acclaimed world tour have been without original bassist D’Arcy Wretzky, with relations fraught between her and the band.

Corgan recently spoke out on how he’s “done playing the class A heel” as the Pumpkins return with their ‘classic’ line-up reunited.

“It’s more of a gossip type of thing, and you can play into that, but ultimately it doesn’t really do what you hoped it would do, which is get people to listen to the music,” Corgan told Loudwire. “I don’t think the guy printed it in the New York Times interview, but I said, ‘I’m done playing that guy’.


“I did it because I enjoyed it. I thought it was fun. I thought I made a lot of good points through the years that exposed the hypocrisy of much of the media complex as far as how they treat celebrity, that they’re really not interested in the work, they’re more interested in what the work gives them in terms of opportunity of creating clickbait and stuff like that.”

The band will return to the UK to play London’s SSE Wembley Arena on October 16. They’ll also be playing a show in Bologna, Italy on October 18. Tickets are available here.