Smashing Pumpkins share photo of reunion line-up – and tease exciting things for their 2018 tour

"This will be unlike anything we've ever done"

Smashing Pumpkins have shared a new official photo of their reunion line-up – as well as teasing exciting things for their upcoming tour.

The alt-rock veterans are back, with frontman Billy Corgan, guitarist James Iha and drummer Jimmy Chamberlin from the original line-up, joined by longtime recent collaborator Jeff Schroeder. Original bassist D’Arcy Wretsky is not taking part, as an ugly feud continues to unfold.

After recently announcing a 2018 tour to play material from their first five albums (as well as reuniting the girls from the ‘Siamese Dream’ sleeve to recreate the iconic photo), this week sees the Pumpkins return to the studio to add the finishing touches to their Rick Rubin-produced comeback album.


To mark progress, the band have shared the below promo photo, telling fans: “Shiny And Oh So Bright 2018 – “This show and staging will be unlike any we’ve ever done, and will feature a set unlike any we’ve ever played. For if this is a chance at a new beginning, we plan on ushering it in with a real bang.”

Fans have also grown excited after Corgan shared a classic setlist from a gig in 1995  – whetting their appetites for the return of classic material.

The frontman has since shared a list of proposed songs for the reunion tour setlist. “The other day, I shared a set of ours from 1995,” he wrote in a new Instagram post. “Which surprisingly engendered a lot of interest, and it got me thinking why not share our pool of PROPOSED songs (meaning the list we’ll use to build The Shiny and Oh So Bright set, so these aren’t in any particular order).”

Under the image of a setlist including tracks like ‘Disarm’, ‘Ava Adore’, ‘1979’ and ‘Soma’, he asked fans to submit their requests. “But remember, the goal is to build an epic set! So choose wisely,” he added.


The proposed setlist also showed the band intend to include covers on the tour of the likes of ‘Space Oddity’, ‘Stairway To Heaven’, and ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’.

And since we are a bit aways from going into rehearsals, and I’m sure we’ve missed a favorite or two,

Corgan also recently shared the titles of eight new Smashing Pumpkins songs: ‘Alienation’, ‘Travels’, ‘Silvery Sometimes’, ‘Solara’, ‘With Sympathy’, ‘Marchin’ On’, ‘Knights of Malta’, ‘Seek And You Shall Destroy’.

This month saw Wretsky make headlines after  accusing Corgan of ‘manipulation‘ and slamming him as ‘insufferable‘. The Pumpkins have since issued a statement, claiming that Wretsky was invited to be involved in the band’s return, but turned down the offer at every turn.

It is believed that further world tour dates will be announced in the months ahead.