The Smiths members tease announcement

Three of the iconic band look to be teaming up on something

Former members of The Smiths have teased an impending announcement.

The iconic Manchester band, comprised of Morrissey, Johnny Marr, Mike Joyce and Andy Rourke, formed in 1982. They released four studio albums before splitting in 1987.

Now, Joyce has shared new images on his Facebook page, suggesting some of the former members of the group are teaming up on something.


The drummer posted a black image with a musical note in the centre, and the names Rourke, Joyce and Gannon (referring to The Smiths’ second guitarist Craig Gannon) across the middle. Underneath it reads “Summer 2018”.

Meanwhile, The Smiths released a deluxe edition of their iconic album ‘The Queen Is Dead’ last year. The fully restored version of the classic LP also featured a number of b-sides and rarities.

The box set also came with a previously-unreleased live album, recorded in Boston in August 1986 and a DVD featuring Derek Jarman’s The Queen Is Dead film.

Earlier in 2017, the band also released a new vinyl single with unreleased recordings for Record Store Day. It featured featuring as unissued demo-mix version of ‘The Boy With The Thorn In His Side’ as the A-side, and an unreleased version of ‘Rubber Ring’ as the B-side.

You May Like