Snow Patrol set to top the UK album chart this weekend

One Direction are also heading for the singles summit

Snow Patrol are set to score the UK Number One album this weekend with their new album ‘Fallen Empires’.

The album, which is the band’s sixth studio record, is currently outselling JLS‘ new album ‘Jukebox’, which sits at Number Two in midweek rundown, one place above Michael Buble‘s festive album ‘Christmas’. Drake is presently on to enter the countdown at Number Four with his new LP ‘Take Care’, while Coldplay are up to Number Five with ‘Mylo Xyloto’.

Lower down, Pixie Lott‘s new album ‘Young Foolish Happy’ is currently set to enter at Number 14, with REM‘s new ‘Best Of’ ‘Part Lies Part Heart Part Truth Part Garbage’ on to take the Number 19 spot.


In the singles chart, boyband One Direction look set to oust Rihanna from the top spot with their new single ‘Gotta Be You’.

Flo Rida is also on for a high new entry with his new single ‘Good Feeling’ presently at Number Three, just above Labrith who is at Number Four with ‘Earthquake’ and Ed Sheeran, who is Number Five with ‘Lego House’.

The rest of Top Ten is set to be largely unmoved, with Lady Gaga, The Saturdays, Westlife and Drake set to see their new singles debut lower down the rundown.

In the lower reaches of the chart, Slow Moving Millie‘s cover of The Smiths‘ ‘Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want’ is at Number 38. The track has enjoyed increased sales on the back of featuring in the John Lewis Christmas advertising campaign.

Visit NME.COM on Sunday (November 20) to see who has scored the top spots.