Snow Patrol record eight new songs

The Northern Irish outfit are working hard on their new album

Snow Patrol have recorded eight new songs for their forthcoming album.

The five-piece, who move into a London studio this week, have been working hard on the record at [B}Berkley Rehearsal Room in Glasgow.

Writing in a posting on the band’s website, singer Gary Lightbodysaid: “Most of the titles will change as I’m still tinkering with lyrics so to give you song names now would just be confusing. One that hasn’t changed is ‘Chasing Cars’ which we played on our last US tour and the shows with U2 and in Ireland, so some of you may know it. It’s sounding pretty big.”

Producer Garret Lee, who worked on their 2003 debut [B}’Final Straw’ is helping the band put the finishing touches to the album, which is due out next year.

Lightbody added: “The whole thing is bigger and bolder except the quiet ones which are as fragile as sugar paper. Garret‘s doing an amazing job and we’re as focused as we’ve ever been. Paul [Wilson]‘s bass is terrifying (in a good way) and Jonny [Quinn]‘s drums, well we don’t call him thunderclap for nothing, or at all but if we did it’d be appropriate.”