Snow Patrol, Divine Comedy shortlisted for Irish award

The bands are up for The Choice Prize

Snow Patrol, The Divine Comedy and The Duke Special are among the acts included on the shortlist for the Choice Music Prize – Ireland’s equivalent of the Mercury Music Prize.

The Choice Prize, now in its second year, was last year won by Julie Feeney with her debut LP ’13 Songs’.

The winning album will be revealed at a live event in Dublin’s Vicar Street on February 28 with the majority of nominees likely to perform on the night. However, Snow Patrol and The Duke Special will definitely not perform due to tour commitments.

The ten albums shortlisted are:

Director – ‘We Thrive On Big Cities’

The Divine Comedy – ‘Victory For The Comic Muse’

The Duke Special – ‘Songs From The Deep Forest’

The Immediate – ‘In Towers And Clouds’

David Kitt – ‘Not Fade Away’

Messiah J & The Expert – ‘Now This I Have To Hear’

Fionn Regan – ‘The End Of History’

Republic Of Loose – ‘Aaagh!’

Si Schroeder – ‘Coping Mechanisms’

Snow Patrol – ‘Eyes Open’