Snow Patrol triumph at Meteor Ireland Music Awards

The band claim four prizes at the ceremony

Snow Patrol scooped four prizes at the Meteor Ireland Music Awards in Dublin last night (February 1).

The band claimed the prizes at the Point Depot for Best Irish Band, Best Irish Album (for ‘Eyes Open’), Most Downloaded Song (‘Chasing Cars’) and Best Live Performance following their sell-out show in Dublin’s Marlay Park last summer.

Other local winners included Westlife, who won Best Irish Pop Act for the seventh year running and Clannad, who were presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Elsewhere, Justin Timberlake was named Best International Male and Lily Allen got the Best International Female award.

Scissor Sisters took the award for Best International Group and Best International Album went to Arctic Monkeys for their 2006 debut ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not’.