Solange to surprise release her new album this week

First full album for eight years is a star-studded affair

Solange is to release a new album this week for her first full album in eight years.

The singer announced on her website that ‘A Seat At The Table’ will be released on Friday (September 30) and is to feature an array of guests.

Musicians featured on the album are Lil Wayne, Q-Tip, The-Dream, Sampha, Moses Sumney, Dev Hynes, BJ The Chicago Kid, Sean Nicholas Savage, Nia Andrews and Kelela. It also features Kelly Rowland, the former Destiny’s Child bandmate of Solange’s sister Beyonce. It has 21 songs, although eight of those are interludes.


Solange called the album: “A project on identity, empowerment, independence, grief and healing.” Although she released seven-song mini-album ‘True’ in 2012, ‘A Seat At The Table’ is Solange’s first full album since ‘Sol-Angel And The Hadley St Dreams’ in 2008.

Although news of the album has come as a surprise, Solange had recently begun to redesign her website. She posted 86 copies of a book of lyrics and art to fans in a competition, then making a digital version available on the site. It inclludes her recent essay Do You Belong? I Do, which detailed her awkward experience at a Kraftwerk concert in Chicago when a group of “old white women” told her to sit down after Solange stood up to dance at the all-seater venue.

There are as yet no live shows announced for ‘A Seat At The Table’. Her most recent UK show was at Glastonbury in 2013.

The tracklisting of ‘A Seat At The Table’ is:
‘The Glory Is In You (Interlude)’
‘Cranes In The Sky’
‘Dad Was Mad (Interlude)’
‘Mad’ (Featuring Lil Wayne)
‘Don’t You Wait’
‘Tina Taught Me’ (Interlude)
‘Don’t Touch My Hair’ (Featuring Sampha)
‘This Moment’ (Interlude)
‘Where Do We Go’
‘For Us By Us’ (Interlude)
‘FUBU’ (Featuring The-Dream and BJ The Chicago Kid)
‘Borderline (An Ode To Self Care)’ (Featuring Q-Tip)
‘I Got So Much Magic, You Can Have It’ (Interlude, Featuring Kelly Rowland and Nia Andrews)
‘No Limits’ (Interlude)
‘Don’t Wish Me Well’
‘Pedestals’ (Interlude)
‘Scales’ (Featuring Kelela)
‘The Chosen Ones’