The group release a mini-album in May before opening for Sonic Youth across America in June...

Stereolab have announced details of a new mini-album, which will be released shortly before they support Sonic Youth on a comprehensive tour of the US.

The album is called ‘The First Of The Microbe Hunters’ and is released on May 29 through Duophonic. The full tracklisting runs: ‘Outer Bongolia’, ‘Intervals’, ‘Barock – Plastik’, ‘Nomos et Phusis’, ‘I Feel The Air (Of Another Planet)’, ‘Household Names’ and ‘Retrograde Mirror Form’.

Following the release of the album, the band then support Sonic Youth across America in June, calling at Minneapolis (venue tbc) (June 9), Chicago Riviera Theatre (10), Pontiac Pheonix Plaza (11), Toronto Warehouse (12), Montreal Metropolis (13), Boston Avalon (15), Providence Lupo’s (16), Philadelphia Electric Factory (18), Washington 9.30 Club (19-20), Knoxville (venue tbc) (22), Atlanta Tabernacle (23) and Raleigh Ritz Theatre (24). The group have also announced a date of their own at the New York Battery Park on June 3, supported by Yoko Ono.

Sonic Youth‘s new album, ‘NYC Ghosts & Flowers’, is released on May 15 through Geffen, and the band return to the UK, following their headlining appearance at the All Tomorrow’s Parties festival, to play a one-off gig at the London Shepherd’s Bush Empire on July 1.