Following mixed reviews for their gig at All Tomorrow's Parties last weekend, Ver Youth have another go with a UK date to support new LP...

Sonic Youth plan to release a new album in May, and perform a one-off UK show in July, can reveal.

The new album is called ‘NYC Ghosts & Flowers’, and is scheduled for release in the UK on May 15 through Geffen. It will be released on CD, and a limited edition double import vinyl, and is produced by Sonic Youth and Jim O’ Rourke, who has previously produced Tortoise.

The tracklisting for the album runs: ‘Free City Rhymes’, ‘Renegade Princess’, ‘Nevermind (What Was It Anyway)’, ‘Small Flowers Crack Concrete’, ‘Side2side’, ‘Streamsonik Subway’, ‘NYC Ghosts & Flowers’ and ‘Lightnin”. Sonic Youth‘s last album, ‘100 Leaves’ was released in 1998.

In addition, the band have lined up their first UK gig since the All Tomorrow’s Parties festival, for July 1 at the London Shepherd’s Bush Empire. Tickets for the event are priced #12.50, and support acts will be announced soon.

For tickets, go to the Ticketshop – click here

Or call the NME 24-Hour Ticketline on 0870 1 663 663. Calls are charged at national standard rate.