Thurston Moore’s black metal band Twilight announce new album and split up on same day

Band's third album will be released in March

Sonic Youth frontman Thurston Moore’s black metal band Twilight have announced their new album and decision to split up.

Moore joined Twilight in 2012 and ‘III: Beneath Trident’s Tomb’, due for release on March 17, will be his first album with the band. However, it will also be his last after the group announced their decision to separate immediately.

Alongside Moore, Twilight consists of Stavros Giannopoulos (Atlas Moth), Wrest (Leviathan), N Imperial (Krieg), and producer Sanford Parker. The band’s previous two albums, ‘Twlilight’ and ‘Monument to Time End’, did not feature the Sonic Youth and Chelsea Light Moving frontman. Scroll down to hear Twilight’s new song ‘Lungs’ now.

Meanwhile, it was confirmed earlier this year that Thurston Moore and John Cale will appear at Liverpool Sound City 2014 as keynote speakers.

The event, which takes place from May 1-2 at the Liverpool Hilton Hotel and Liverpool ONE will see Cale – formerly of The Velvet Underground – and Moore joined by a third keynote speaker, former Chief Executive of The Premier League and former CEO of Liverpool Football Club, Rick Parry.