Sonic Youth to release 1986 ‘Spinhead Sessions’

Listen to 'Theme With Noise'

Sonic Youth have announced the release of their 1986 ‘Spinhead Sessions’. The sessions were recorded during their time working on the soundtrack to Ken Friendman’s film ‘Made in the U.S.A.’

Before they finalised the soundtrack, the band recorded some rehearsal sessions at Spinhead studio; they’ve now been collected and are set to be released this summer on June 17. The full tracklisting is below:

Spinhead Sessions:


01 Ambient Guitar & Dreamy Theme
02 Theme With Noise
03 High Mesa
04 Unknown Theme
05 Wolf
06 Scalping
07 Theme 1 Take 4

Sonic Youth have shared ‘Theme With Noise’ from the sessions on Brooklyn Vegan, which you can stream below.


Sonic Youth split in 2011 after Thurston Moore and Kim Gordon divorced. It was subsequently revealed that the frontman cheated on his wife with a woman he then moved to London with.

They played their last gig at a festival in São Paolo, Brazil. In her 2015 memoir Girl In a Band, Gordon criticised the way her former husband and bandmate acted at the gig.

However, asked to reflect on that final gig in a new interview with Collide, Moore admitted that he did not think it was the last time the band would play together before the gig and still doesn’t. He is quoted as saying the group “goes on and won’t end.”

“Sonic Youth was a bond that existed between four of us. I have a tattoo that says ‘SONIC LIFE’ and it’s something that defines me forever. For me, it goes on and won’t end.” Listen to ‘Theme With Noise’ below.