Sonic Youth line up for Irish festival

The Jesus & The Mary Chain are also on for the Electric Picnic

Sonic Youth, The Jesus And Mary Chain and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah head the latest acts to be added to the Electric Picnic line-up.

The Magic Numbers, !!!, Aim, The Go! Team, Ratatat, Ladytron, Jamie Lidell, Damien Dempsey, The Undertones, Fujiya & Miyagi, Horace Andy, Ukelele Orchestra Of Great Britain, Marlena Shaw, A Trak, Josh Wink, Electrelane, Bonde do Role, Deerfhoof and The Glimmers have also just been announced to play the festival.

Earlier this week (April 2) Beastie Boys, The Stooges, Bjork, Jarvis Cocker, Primal Scream and The Good, The Bad & The Queen were confirmed to play the event alongside LCD Soundsystem, Modest Mouse, The Polyphonic Spree, Craig Armstrong, Soul II Soul, Paul Hartnoll‘s The Ideal Condition and the Dublin Gospel Choir.

The three-day event takes place at Stradbally Hall, Co Laois in Ireland from August 31 to September 2.

The festival will comprise seven music stages as well as comedy and film tents. Lost Vagueness will also return to the festival for the third time.

Tickets priced £150 are on sale now. For availability and to get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/GIGS now.