Each track on 'It's A Wonderful Life' has a mini-movie made specially for it...

The first batch of short films produced to accompany the new SPARKLEHORSE album ‘IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE’ will be premiered at a special screening in LONDON next week.

Each track on the album is to have a film specially made for it, and the first three will be shown at Electric Cinema in London next Monday (June 11), the same day the album is released.

The first three are ‘Sea Of Teeth’, produced by Jonathan Donahue of Mercury Rev; ‘More Yellow Birds’ by Jason Lytle from Grandaddy; and ‘Heloise Rex Remix’ by Scott Minor.


The screenings will be followed by a showing of the film ‘101 Reykjavik’, which is scored by Damon Albarn.

The full Sparklehorse film collection – which will eventually include films directed by Tom Waits, who collaborates on the album track ‘Dog Door’, Will Oldham, Garine Torossian Chan Marshall of Cat Power, photographer Danny Clinch, Guy Madden and The Quay Brothers – will be given its official premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival in August.

Sparklehorse have three gigs lined up in the UK this month, at:

Norwich Waterfront (June 23)

Glasgow King Tut’s (24)

Manchester MDH (25)


The band also play V2001 on August 18 and 19. Their new single ‘Gold Day’, which features guest vocals from Cardigans singer Nina Persson, is out on July 2.

To buy tickets for V2001,

click here, or call NME’s 24-Hour Ticketline on 0870 1 663 663. All calls are charged at the national standard rate.

You May Like