Spinal Tap reveal new album details

'Back From The Dead' will be released in June

Spinal Tap have revealed details of a forthcoming new album, set for release next month.

The spoof metal band, stars of the 1984 “rockumentary” ‘This Is Spinal Tap’, will release ‘Back From The Dead’ on June 15.

Guests on the album include Def Leppard‘s Phil Collen, John Mayer, guitarist Steve Vai and keyboardist Keith Emerson.


It will be accompanied by an hour-long DVD featuring insights from the band members about the songs.

The album will contain 19 tracks, including new versions of ‘Hell Hole’ and ‘Big Bottom’, which appeared on the 1984 flick’s original soundtrack, reports Billboard.

Also set for inclusion are ‘Jazz Odyssey’, a three-part song, and a reggae version of ‘(Listen the) Flower People’, which also appeared on the original soundtrack.

Newer songs ‘Warmer Than Hell’, ‘Celtic Blues’, ‘Rock’N’Roll Nightmare’ and ‘Saucy Jack’ will also feature.

Bassist Derek Smalls, aka actor Harry Shearer, revealed that there were plans to release further new material.

He said that there were: “about four or five new songs that weren’t completed in time to make this record, so we’ll do something digital with them on the download side or something like that”.


Spinal Tap celebrate the 25th anniversary of ‘This Is Spinal Tap’ by playing London‘s Wembley Arena on June 30.

To check the availability of Spinal Tap tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/GIGS now, or call 0871 230 1094.