Spiritualized release a new EP on May 25 featuring a string quartet, brass section and two choirs on re-recordings of previously released tracks...

Spiritualized are to release a new EP in the UK on May 25. ‘The Abbey Road EP’ comprises a re-recording of ‘Come Together’ and two new versions of ‘Broken Heart’ featuring a string quartet, brass section, two choirs and the band’s touring members, guitarist Mike Mooney, keyboardist Tim Lewis and sax player Ray Dickaty.

The tracks were recorded at Abbey Road in January after Spiritualized had finished sessions for the forthcoming Doctor John LP ‘Anutha Zone’, which also features performances from Gaz and Mickey of Supergrass, Paul Weller and various Beta Band members and will be released by Parlophone in July.

Spiritualized appear on two tracks, ‘John Gris’ and ‘Hello God’. Jason Pierce plays “space and parfisa (sic)” on the songs, according to production notes for the sessions.


Meanwhile, Spiritualized performed in the Windows On The World restaurant in New York’s 112-storey World Trade Center last Thursday (April 16); the second of their “floating in space” shows initiated at the CN Tower show in Toronto last December, earning the band a place in the Guinness Book Of World Records for the ‘highest gig in the world’.

The 90-minute show took place before an invited audience which included Radiohead, with whom Spiritualized have been touring the States, Malcolm McLaren, Shed Seven singer Rick Witter, Moby, Sonic Youth’s Lee Ranaldo and Steve Shelley, Dean Wareham and Sean Eden from Luna and members of Fun Lovin’ Criminals.

The full set-list for the gig was: ‘Nothin’ Hurts’, ‘Noise’, ‘Shine A Light’, ‘Born Never Asked’, ‘Electric Mainline’, ‘Electricity’, ‘Home Of The Brave’, ‘The Individual’, ‘All Of My Tears’, ‘Sway’, ‘200 Bars’, ‘Come Together’, ‘I Think I’m In Love’, ‘Cop Shoot Cop’ and ‘Walkin’ With Jesus’.

You May Like