Spotify has responded to backlash over its new integration with Facebook by updating their privacy settings.
After a raft of users complained when it was revealed that the new service would automatically share details of every song users played with their contacts, Spotify has now updated the service to include a ‘private listening’ function, reports Billboard.
Spotify founder Daniel Ek has explained that users can now check a box and choose whether or not to share their listening choices with their contacts. Ek says:
We’re rolling out a new client as we speak where you can temporarily hide your guilty pleasures… It works like a browser’s private mode. We call it ‘private listening’ and you can find it in the Spotify/File menu and toggle it on/off.
All new Spotify users will now also need a Facebook account to register to the music streaming service.
Last week it was announced that Spotify, Rhapsody, SoundCloud, Earbits, Vevo, Slacker Radio and Songza have all joined forces with Facebook in a new initiative set up by the social networking site.
The new features will give users access to over 15 million songs, and will also allow them to see what tracks are trending on the site, as well as letting users share music with friends.