Squid launch record label Ink with guitarist Anton Pearson’s new EP

It will house the band members' solo projects and collaborations

Squid have launched their own record label called Ink, with its first release being a new EP from the band’s guitarist Anton Pearson.

The Brighton five-piece announced the news on Twitter earlier today (August 26), explaining that the label will serve as “a hub for our solo music and collabs that exist outside of the linear Squid time-line!!”

Accompanying the announcement was Pearson’s five-track EP ‘It’s Time For Us All To Leave Now’, which is made up of “nature-influenced drone music.”


It’s comprised of the songs ‘Coal’, ‘Contact Desk’, ‘A47DM’, ‘In A Box’ and ’12×12′. You can listen to it in full via Bandcamp below.

This comes after Squid recently announced a UK and Ireland headline tour for 2021, which will see the band play their biggest headline show to date at London’s Printworks. Kicking off at The Crossing in Birmingham on March 19, the stint will conclude with a gig at Nottingham’s Rock City on May 21.

You can see the dates of Squid’s 2021 headline tour below:

19 – The Crossing, Birmingham
21 – Button Factory, Dublin
22 – Empire, Belfast
24 – SWG, Glasgow
25 – NUSU Basement, Newcastle
26 – Albert Hall, Manchester
28 – Tramshed, Cardiff
29 – Marble Factory, Bristol
30 – The Phoenix, Exeter
31 – 1865, Southampton


6 – Concorde 2, Brighton
8 –  Printworks, London

Meanwhile, Squid have released covers of Robert Wyatt’ ‘Pigs(In There)’ and Steve Reich’s ‘Clapping Music’ via Bandcamp, with all proceeds being donated to the East Bristol Food Bank. You can find more info here.

“We’ve all been affected by COVID in some way, but for people who were already struggling, the pandemic has increased the likelihood of lasting difficulties that will continue after lockdown comes to an end,” the band said in a statement.