New season of ‘Girls’ to debut tracks by St Vincent and Grimes

Family of the Year to also feature in the popular HBO comedy

The new season of HBO comedy Girls will feature previously unheard tracks by St Vincent, Grimes and Family of the Year.

The show’s music supervisor, Manish Raval, announced the news in an interview with Billboard, also revealing that older songs by Patsy Cline, Chet Baker and Charles Mingus are to feature.

A new track by St Vincent – real name Annie Clark – titled ‘Teenage Talk’ will be used to close out an episode of Girls, which was created by and stars Lena Dunham. The series returned to US screen last Sunday (January 11) with the premiere of its fourth season.

“I said to St Vincent’s people, ‘We love Annie and she and Lena are friends. Is there anything laying around?’ They sent us a demo of a song called ‘Teenage Talk’ that she hadn’t released yet and it was amazing. Lena flipped for it,” said Raval.

Grimes will perform ‘Entropy’, a new song co-written by Dunham’s boyfriend Jack Antonoff of the band Fun. “Jack is our secret weapon on the show,” said Raval. “With him, we have access to so much: he’s an amazing songwriter and producer, he has relationships… A lot of times, we’ll just ask, ‘What are you working on now? Taylor Swift?’ I have no problem tapping into that connection.”

According to Raval, ‘Entropy’ will close out one of his “favorite episodes ever – a big party event leads us on a very melancholy note but there’s something so awesomely fun and energetic about this track that really plays against the moment”.

A deluxe version of Clark’s acclaimed 2014 album ‘St Vincent’ is to be released next month. The LP will contain five bonus tracks, including the unreleased ‘Bad Believer’, as well as Japanese bonus track ‘Del Rio’, ‘Pieta’ and ‘Sparrow’ from her Record Store Day Black Friday single. Darkside’s ‘Digital Witness’ remix will also feature.

St Vincent’s self-titled album was named NME’s Album Of The Year 2014 and was placed seventh in NME’s Albums Of The Decade So Far.