St Vincent and David Byrne announce details of new album ‘Love This Giant’

The collaboration will be released on September 11

St Vincent and David Byrne have announced details of their joint album ‘Love This Giant’, which is set for release on September 11.

Recorded over two years, the pair wrote ten of the album’s twelve tracks together, with each artist submitting a track of their own. Speaking of the collaboration, St Vincent – real name Annie Clark, said: “There was no delineating what the roles were. It’s a collaboration I’m truly proud of.”

The pair first met in 2009, and subsequently shared song ideas online while Clark was on tour. Byrne later performed with Clark at her ‘American Songbook’ show at Lincoln Center in 2010, and Clark contributed vocals to Byrne’s ‘Here Lies Love’ album, released the same year.

The pair will have also announced a North American tour, of which Byrne said: “We’ll be doing these songs and a bunch of songs that we suspect people will know, with a group that includes eight brass players, a keyboardist and a drummer.”

The tracklisting for ‘Love This Giant’ is as follows:

‘Weekend in the Dust’
‘Dinner For Two’
‘Ice Age’
‘I Am An Ape’
‘The Forest Awakes’
‘I Should Watch TV’
‘ The One Who Broke Your Heart (featuring The Dap-Kings and Antibalas)’
‘Outside of Space & Time’