Stephen Malkmus teams up with Beck for new Jicks album

You can download a free preview track from 'Mirror Traffic' now

Stephen Malkmus has teamed up with Beck for his new album.

Hot on the heels of last year’s Pavement reunion shows, he has returned to The Jicks for a new record. ‘Mirror Traffic’ is released on August 22 through Domino, and was recorded with Beck as producer at Sunset Sound Studios in Los Angeles.

It is preceded by a single, ‘Tigers’ on August 15. You can download the track ‘Senator’ at


Malkmus explained how the new record takes a softer approach than some of his more recent work. He said: “This record is relatively approachable. Beck and I were both burned out on the heavy rocking style, and playing to the strengths of a melody seemed like a way to go.”

The full tracklisting is:

‘No One (Is As I Are Be)’
‘Brain Gallop’
‘Asking Price’
‘Stick Figures In Love’
‘Long Hard Book’
‘Share The Red’
‘Tune Grief’
‘Forever 28’
‘All Over Gently’
‘Fall Away’
‘Gorgeous George’