Stephen Malkmus teams up with Kim Gordon for new Jicks song ‘Refute’

'Refute' will feature on The Jicks' forthcoming new album 'Sparkle Hard', which is set for release next month

Stephen Malkmus and The Jicks have shared their new collaboration with Kim Gordon – listen to the track, ‘Refute’ below.

The ex-Pavement frontman’s band are gearing up to release their latest album, ‘Sparkle Hard’, on May 18 via Matador. It’ll be Malkmus’ seventh record with The Jicks, following on from 2014’s ‘Wig Out at Jagbags’.

The record’s latest single, ‘Refute’, is now available to stream ahead of the LP’s release next month, with the new song featuring ex-Sonic Youth musician Gordon – and you can check it out now below, via Spotify.


Refute, an album by Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks on Spotify

Speaking about ‘Sparkle Hard’ in a press release last month, Malkmus said that the new record is “refining what we’re doing”.

“I was trying to keep it direct, for the most part,” he explained. “I’ve been ‘zigzag-y’ and I like that, but I wanted to keep it tight, even if there are some long songs.”

You can see the tracklist for Stephen Malkmus and The Jicks’ ‘Sparkle Hard’ below.

1. Cast Off
2. Future suite
3. Solid Solk
4. Bike Lane
5. Middle America
6. Rattler
7. Shiggy
8. Kite
9. Brethren
10. Refute
11. Difficulties/Let Them Eat Vowels

Earlier this month, Malkmus said that he wants to collaborate with Lorde in the future – and is hopeful of it happening because she owes him a “favour”.