The Beta Band’s Steve Mason announces release of new ‘political’ solo album

'Monkey Minds In The Devil's Time' will be released on March 11 next year

Steve Mason of the Beta Band has announced plans to release his new ‘political’ solo album, ‘Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time’ on March 11, 2013.

The follow up to 2010’s ‘Boys Outside’ and 2011’s dub re-versioning ‘Ghosts Outside’, has been part produced by Dan Carey and features 20 tracks, nine recorded in Carey’s studio in London and 11 ‘linking pieces’ laid down by Mason himself in his own studio in Fife, Scotland.

Album track ‘More Money, More Fire’ features vocals from MC Mystro. Click above to see the video for ‘protest song’ ‘Fight Them Back’.


The ‘Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time’ tracklisting is:

‘The Old Problem’
‘Lie Awake’
‘Flyover ’98’
‘A Lot Of Love’
‘The Last Of Heroes’
‘Safe Population’
‘Friends For Ever More’
‘Seen It All Before’
‘From Hate We Hope’
‘Oh My Lord’
‘Goodbye Youth’
‘Never Be Alone’
‘Behind The Curtains’
‘More Money, More Fire’
‘Operation Mason’
‘Fight Them Back’
‘Towers of Power’
‘Come To Me’


Terry Gilliam: “We’re doomed – what is going on with the world?”

The brain behind some of cinema's craziest epics talks climate change, Adolf Hitler, Brexit Britain – and getting his big break with Terry Jones

Courteeners’ Liam Fray: “The band is my life. When it’s not going great, my life’s not going great”

Fray on the road through darkness that led to new album 'More. Again. Forever.'

Savages’s Jehnny Beth tells us how David Bowie and ‘Peaky Blinders’ shaped her wild solo album

"In my core I felt that there was something that I hadn’t done yet – and that was this record"