Stevie Wonder leads emotional finale at Glastonbury

Motown legend is joined on the Pyramid Stage by Michael Eavis

Stevie Wonder brought Glastonbury 2010 to an emotional finale tonight (June 27) – and was even joined onstage by organiser Michael Eavis.

The Motown legend headlined the Pyramid Stage, delivering his biggest hits all the way.

Wonder made his Glastonbury debut with a set that was brimming with singalong favourites, including ‘Signed, Sealed, Delivered Im Yours’, ‘Dont You Worry ‘Bout A Thing’ and ‘Superstition’. He also brought along his familiar covers of The Beatles‘We Can Work It Out’ and Michael Jackson‘s ‘Human Nature’.


Before ‘Living For The City’ he sent out an anti-war message, declaring, “I believe God is about the perpetuation of life, not the destroying of it,” and then quipping, “If I could see I could really kick some ass.”

“If you’re gonna be a hater just go drink some haterade and just die.”

As he brought the festival to a close, Wonder brought out Michael Eavis to serenade the festival’s 40th anniversary with ‘Happy Birthday’.

Stevie Wonder played:

‘My Eyes Don’t Cry’
‘Master Blaster (Jammin’)’
‘We Can Work It Out’
‘As If You Read My Mind’
‘If You Really Love Me’
‘Higher Ground’
‘Dont You Worry ‘Bout A Thing’
‘Living For The City’
‘Human Nature’
‘Uptight (Everything’s Alright)’
‘For Once In My Life’
‘Fingertips (Pt 2)’
‘Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours’
‘Sir Duke’
‘I Just Called To Say I Love You’
‘Happy Birthday’

NME will be coming live from Glastonbury throughout the weekend. Head to NME.COM/glastonbury for the latest festival news.

You May Like