Stream Death Cab For Cutie’s new album ‘Thank You For Today’ ahead of release

Feast your ears

Death Cab For Cutie have shared their new record ahead of its release on Friday (August 17).

‘Thank You For Today’, the ninth studio album by the Washington band, is the follow-up to 2015’s ‘Kintsugi’. You can stream the album via NPR here.

‘Thank You For Today’ is the band’s first record without guitarist Chris Walla and arrives shortly before the 20th anniversary of the band’s debut ‘Something About Airplanes’.


In July the band teased more of the new album with the release of ‘I Dreamt We Spoke Again’. It followed June’s single ‘Gold Rush’.

‘Gold Rush’ emerged after frontman Ben Gibbard ‘flipped’ a loop taken from Yoko Ono’s song ‘Mind Train’.

Speaking to NME, Gibbard added: “If I’m on a campaign for this album, it’s for people to actually spend time with [Ono’s] music before they feel like they know what it is, because her music spans a much wider spectrum than people give her credit for.”

Death Cab For Cutie head out on a US tour in support of the new album this autumn. Check out the full tour dates below:



21-23 – Las Vegas, NV @ Life is Beautiful Music & Art Festival
24 – Eugene, OR @ Hult Center for the Performing Arts
25 – Portland, OR @ Keller Auditorium
27 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre Berkeley
29 – Phoenix, AZ @ Van Buren


1 – Dallas, TX @ Bomb Factory
2 – Kansas City, MO @ Arvest Bank Theatre at The Midland
3 – Madison, WI @ The Sylvee
5 – St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre
7 – Chicago, IL @ Auditorium Theatre
9 – Upper Darby, PA @ Tower Theatre
12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre
13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre
14 – Boston, MA @ Boch Wang Theatre
17 – Washington DC @ Anthem
18 – Charlottesville, VA @ Sprint Pavilion
19 – Atlanta, GA @ Coca Cola Roxy
20 – St. Augustine, FL @ St. Augustine Amphitheatre
22 – Miami, FL @ The Fillmore Miami Beach
23 – Orlando, FL @ Hard Rock Live