Suede debut material from new album ‘Bloodsports’ at tiny London Barfly show

The band are set to release their sixth album on March 18

Suede played an intimate show at Camden’s 200-capacity Barfly venue last night (March 4) to raise money for War Child.

The Britpop quintet, who reunited in 2010 following a seven-year hiatus, played a 90-minute set for XFM showcasing a number of hits as well as debuting cuts from forthcoming sixth album, ‘Bloodsports’.

Entering to the keyboard strains of current single ‘Barriers’, the band – all dressed in black save for singer Brett Anderson – then segued into anthemic album track ‘Hit Me’ before moving into a hit-packed portion of old classics including ‘Trash’ and ‘Animal Nitrate’, with Anderson climbing on the monitors and leaning out into the heaving crowd.

Suede then showcased a further selection of new tracks including sweeping ballad ‘For The Strangers’ and ‘Sabotage’ before continuing with an array of older material. Previous B-sides ‘Killing Of A Flashboy’ and ‘My Insatiable One’ both received an airing to the delight of the crowd, who sang large portions of the latter as Anderson held the microphone into the crowd. They finished the set with ‘New Generation’ and a huge singalong of ‘Beautiful Ones’ before exiting the stage with no encore.

Speaking at the NME Awards last week, Anderson was in high spirits about the show, enthusing that, “Any performer loves playing small gigs – there’s something really great about that intimacy and that contact. I miss it really. A band like Suede are very much about contact; I love being able to see people’s expressions. It’s really important for me to be tactile at shows, it flows much more easily for me.”

Suede are set to release ‘Bloodsports’ on March 18 before playing London’s Alexandra Palace on March 30 with support from Spector and Radar favourites Temples.

Suede played:

‘Hit Me’
‘Animal Nitrate’
‘Killing Of A Flashboy’
‘He’s Dead’
‘For The Strangers’
‘It Starts And Ends With You’
‘The Drowners’
‘My Insatiable One’
‘Can’t Get Enough’
‘Everything Will Flow’
‘So Young’
‘Metal Mickey’
‘New Generation’
“Beautiful Ones’