Sum 41 talk about new album

Band now a three-piece after guitarist quits

Sum 41’s Derek Whibley has revealed he’s written 20 songs for the follow-up to 2004’s ’Chuck’.

The self produced effort was recorded in Los Angeles Ocean Way studio.

Speaking about the CD, Whibley said: ”We can’t wait for fans to hear this album. And we can’t wait to get out on the road and prove ourselves to people.”

The three-piece now consists of Whibley on guitar and vocals, Cone McCaslin on bass and Steve Jocz on drums.

It marks the first time the band have made a record without founding member, guitaristDave Baksh.

Whibley told MTV News: “The whole thing with Dave happened so, yeah, I know there is a lot of baggage attached to this album. But I’d like to think that we all learned a lot from what’s happened. We realized that we needed to be a band again. Because ever since ’All Killer, No Filler’ (from 2001), we honestly weren’t a band. We were a machine.”

A release date for the as yet untitled album has yet to be confirmed.