Super Furry Animals’ Cian Ciaran announces release of second solo album

Ciaran describes the self-produced effort as his 'protest album'

Super Furry AnimalsCian Ciaran has announced details of his second solo album.

‘They Are Nothing Without Us’, the follow-up to Ciaran’s 2012 solo debut ‘Outside In’, will be released on September 23. Ciaran produced the 13-track LP himself and describes it as his “protest album”.

“It’s about shouting up, exercising your voice, being pissed off and urging people not to take any more shit,” he explains.


“We live in a world where there’s a widening gulf between the haves and have-nots. The elite continue to exploit, politicians continue to misrepresent while the media continue to manipulate and bankers, well we all know what rhymes with bankers! It’s time we face the consequences of our actions, we are all responsible.”

Ciaran also revealed that “musically the album is different to the last album, not so mellow”. The album will be preceded on September 16 by a download-only EP featuring two of its tracks, ‘Sewn Up’ and Sleepless Nights’, plus two exclusive non-album tracks.

Super Furry Animals released their ninth and most recent album, ‘Dark Days/Light Years’, in 2009 and have been on hiatus since 2010.

The ‘They Are Nothing Without Us’ tracklist is:

‘5c Cotton 40c Beef’
‘Sewn Up’
‘Sleepless Nights’
‘No More’
‘Bee My Baby’
‘Shape Control’
‘Down River’
‘You Are What You Breath’
‘Silver Sea’