Super Furry Animals announce new album details

Band's next effort set for release in March

Super Furry Animals will release a new album on March 16 digitally via

A full physical release for as-yet untitled record will follow on April 13, with an April 21 release planned for the US.

The as-yet untitled LP will be the band’s ninth studio effort. The album artwork will be created by both long-term cohort Pete Fowler and Japanese artist Tanaami, who designed the sleeve for the band’s last album, 2007’s ‘Hey Venus!’.

In a statement the band said of the album: “Musically it’s based around riffs and grooves we’ve been playing around with over the last few years. We have enough now for a whole album so even though it’s still very melodic we thought we could leave off the acoustic ballads for the time being.

“It’s recognisable as a melodic SFA record, but is very focused musically as a cohesive album. And no country rock as Daf [Ieuan, drums] has developed a pedal steel phobia. Which has confined the great Nashvillian instrument along with the saxophone to the banned instrument directive of the SFA board. There’s only one slow number, which isn’t slow at all.”

The working tracklisting of the album is:

‘The Very Best Of Neil Diamond’

‘White Socks/Flip Flops’

‘Inaugural Trams’

‘Sounds Familiar’

‘Cardiff In The Sun’

‘Where Do You Wanna Go?’

‘LLiwiau LLachar’


‘Moped Eyes’


‘Crazy Naked Girls’