Super Furry Animals star puts together reggae compilation

Guto Pryce raids Trojan Records' back catalogue

Super Furry Animals bassist Guto Pryce has become the latest musician to raid Trojan Records’ back catalogue to put together a compilation of his favourite songs on the dub and reggae label.

‘Furry Selection’, out on June 4, features 16 of Pryce’s favourite tunes on the label, including tracks by Horace Andy, Bob Marley & The Wailers and Augustus Pablo.

Pryce joins Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood and Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry in putting together collections from the vast Trojan back catalogue.

He said: “Jamaican music looks forward, dub is ageless because it sounds like nothing else… The music that came from Jamaica in the late 60’s and early 70’s is some of the best I’ve ever heard, from anywhere in the world… You can’t believe how lucky I feel to plough through Trojan‘s huge catalogue and choose my favourite tracks.”

The tracklisting is:

Horace Andy – ‘Skylarking’

Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry – ‘Curly Locks’

Mikey Dread – ‘Dread Combination’

Leo Graham & The Upsetters – ‘Flashing Echo’

Augustus Pablo – ‘Vibrate Onn’

Keith Hudson – ‘Darkest Night On A Wet Looking Road’

Linval Thompson – ‘Jamaican Colley (version)’

U-Roy – ‘Penny For Your Dub’

Tenor Saw – ‘Ring The Alarm’

Leroy Smart & The Aggrovators – ‘Channel One Feel It’

Susan Cadogan – ‘Do It Baby’

The Upsetters – ‘23rd Dub’

Rupie Edwards – ‘Free The Weed’

Bob Marley & The Wailers – ‘Kaya’

Cornell Campbell – ‘Girl Of My Dreams’

Junior Byles – ‘The Long Way’