The band finish touring their last album shortly - but they're going straight back to work...

SUPER FURRY ANIMALS will get to work on their seventh studio album as soon as they have finished their forthcoming UK tour.

The band, who release an collection of remixes from their ‘Phantom Power’ album on April 12, have been touring the world over the last year – but they aim to go straight to work as soon as their live commitments come to a halt.

Drummer Dafydd Ieuan told the Salisbury Journal: “On the last album we had about 44 songs in various stages of completion, so we had to choose 14 to record that we thought would work together as an album.

“There’s surplus from that album and even more have come along. We have our own studio in Cardiff so it’s a bit easier to take your

time when you know that time is not money.

“You can go back and change things, or scrap a week’s worth of work

without thinking that you are wasting a fortune.”

Ieuan also revealed the reason the band are releasing a remix album is so they can pay the artists who have reworked their songs.

As previously revealed on NME.COM, the band’s new LP, titled ‘Phantom Phorce’, is a collection of reworkings of tracks from the band’s 2003 LP ‘Phantom Power’.

The remixes initially appeared on the DVD version of ‘Phantom Power’.

Ieuan admitted: “We ask people to do remixes for free because we don’t have any money to pay them, and as part of the deal we promised to release them on an album on our own label, then they get some royalties.”

Remixers include [a][/a] and The High Llamas’ Sean O’Hagan.

The full tracklisting is:

‘Hello Sunshine’ (Weevil)

‘Liberty Belle’ (Mario Caldato Jnr)

‘Golden Retriever’ (Killa Kella)

‘Sex, War And Robots’ (Wauvenfold)

‘The Piccolo Snare’ (Four Tet)

‘Venus & Serena’ (Massimo)

‘Father Father’ (Boom Bip)

‘Bleed Forever’ (Brave Captain)

‘Out Of Control’ (Zan Lyons)

‘City Scape Sky Baby’ (Minotaur Shock)

‘Valet Parking’ (High Llamas)

‘The Undefeated’ (Llwybr Llaethog)

‘Slow Life’ (Sir Doufous Styles)

‘Valet Parking’ (Force Unknown)

‘Hello Sunshine’ (Frieband)

The band will also make a new EP available as a download on April 12 on [url=]placidcasual.com. The EP comprises a new edit of ‘Slow Life’, ‘Lost Control’ (a remix of ‘Phantom Power”s ‘Out Of Control’) and ‘Motherfokker’, which features guest appearances from Goldie Lookin’ Chain and Killa Kella.

Initial quantities of ‘Phantom Phorce’ will feature the single as an extra CD. Both ‘Phantom Phorce’ and ‘Slow Life’ are released on the band’s own Placid Casual label.

The full list of the band’s UK/Ireland shows is as follows:

Liverpool Royal Court (March 27)

Dublin Olympia (28)

Edinburgh Corn Exchange (30)

Middlesbrough Town Hall (31)

Sheffield Octagon (April 1)

Cardiff International Arena (2)

Nottingham Rock City (4)

Salisbury City Hall (5)

Cambridge Corn Exchange (6)

Brighton Dome (7)

London Carling Hammersmith Apollo (8)

To get tickets, [url=]click here or call the NME Ticketline on 0870 1 663 663.