Gruff Rhys is to release his own record - and we've got full details of the band's Lightning Fryday event...

SUPER FURRY ANIMALS frontman GRUFF RHYS is to release his debut solo album – and the band have revealed full details of their forthcoming LIGHTNING FRYDAY event.

The band’s label Placid Casual will release the record in January 2005. Clocking in at 29 minutes and containing 11 songs, ‘Yr Atal Genhedlaeth’ was recorded with Gorwel Owen at Stiwdio Ofn at various points during spring and summer 2004.

The band have also released full details of their sold-out Lightning Fryday event, which will take place on October 1 at London’s Royal Festival Hall. It starts at 6.30pm, and SFA will play two sets across three rooms in the venue. The band will be joined by a supporting cast featuring Zabrinski, bravecaptain, Richard James from [a][/a] and Mugison. There will also be a chance for fans to confess all sins to Howard Marks in the Howard Marks Confessional Booth. Surprise guest DJs will appear, and there will be and visual performances and art installations by Pete Fowler and Mark James.

A few extra tickets will be released at 3pm on the day of the show. These can be reserved by calling the Box Office (0870 160 2522) at this time.

Super Furry Animals will also appear at Cardiff Point Theatre on September 30 as a warm up for Lightning Fryday. Tickets, priced £12, will go on sale at 9am on Friday (September 24) exclusively from Spillers Records in Cardiff.

SFA are also hard at work on their seventh studio album – the follow up to 2003’s ‘Phantom Power’ – to be released on Epic during spring 2005. Frontman Rhys told NME recently that the album “has an orchestral feel to it”.

As previously revealed on NME.COM, the band’s hits compilation’Songbook – The Singles Volume One’ is released through Sony on October 4.

There will also be a DVD featuring all the group’s videos to date, as well as a previously unseen 40-minute on-the-road documentary.

The band will precede the compilation by releasing a 20-minute live version of their classic ‘The Man Don’t Give A Fuck’ on September 27, though the ‘normal’ version will appear on ‘Songbook’. The live version was recorded at London Hammersmith Apollo on the band’s last UK tour.

The full tracklisting for ‘Songbook’ is:

‘Something 4 The Weekend’

‘It’s Not The End Of The World?’

‘Northern Lites’

‘Juxtapozed With U’

‘Slow Life’

‘Fire In My Heart’

‘The Man Don’t Give A Fuck’

‘Hermann Loves Pauline’

‘Play It Cool’

‘Ice Hockey Hair’

‘Do Or Die’

‘(Drawing) Rings Around The World’

‘God! Show Me Magic’

‘Ysbeidiau Heulog’


‘Golden Retriever’

‘The International Language Of Screaming’

‘Hello Sunshine’

‘Hometown Unicorn’

‘If You Don’t Want Me To Destroy You’