Queens Of The Stone Age preview new album at SXSW

NME.COM hears first official playback

Queens Of The Stone Age’s new album was unveiled this afternoon (March 15) in Austin, Texas, and NME.COM was there to hear it.

Nine tracks from the band’s fifth studio album, ‘Era Vulgaris’ (‘common era’ or ‘age without god’), were previewed at the exclusive listening party, held at the South By Southwest Fader House.

The album includes the track ‘Make It Witchu’ from The Desert Sessions, this time with Josh Homme replacing Mark Lanegan on the vocal.

As previously reported, The Strokes‘ frontman Julian Casablancas also features on the record.

The songs previewed were:

‘Turning On The Screw’

‘Sick Sick Sick’

‘Into The Hollow’

‘Battery Acid’

‘River In The Road’

‘Suture Up Your Future’

‘3s and 7s’

‘I’m Designer’

‘Make It Witchu’

‘Era Vulgaris’ is due to be released in June.

For all the latest blogs, gossip and news live from SXSW, check out NME.COM/newmusic.