Tame Impala and Courtney Barnett shortlisted for 2016 Australian Music Prize

Royal Headache and Sarah Blasko also nominated for the country's equivalent of the Mercury Prize

Tame Impala and Courtney Barnett are among the acts nominated for this year’s Australian Music Prize.

The award aims to determine the best record produced by an Australian artist over the past twelve months. It is the country’s equivalent of the Mercury Prize.

Tame Impala and Courtney Barnett have been acknowledged for their recent albums ‘Currents’ and ‘Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit’ respectively.

Punk band Royal Headache and singer-songwriter Sarah Blasko are also among those nominated.

The winner of the 11th annual Australian Music Prize will be announced at a ceremony on 9 March and will receive a prize of $30,000 (AUD).

NMEJenn Five/NME

The Guardian reports that nine albums are normally shortlisted each year, but ten have been picked this time round due what is seen as a strong year for the country’s top musicians.

Chairman of the judging panel Dave Faulkner said: “No list of 10 albums could ever capture the diversity of music that was produced in the country over the last year and many great albums only narrowly missed making the shortlist, breaking some AMP judges’ hearts in the process, however these were the 10 albums that the 16 judges agreed were the best of the year.”

Courtney Barnett – ‘Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit’
Dan Kelly – ‘Leisure Panic’
Dick Diver – ‘Melbourne, Florida’
Gold Class – ‘It’s You’
Jess Ribeiro – ‘Kill It Yourself’
Methyl Ethel – ‘Oh Inhuman Spectacle’
My Disco – ‘Severe’
Royal Headache – ‘High’
Sarah Blasko – ‘Eternal Return’
Tame Impala – ‘Currents’