Tame Impala stream new album ‘Currents’ – listen

The Aussie band's third LP will be released on Friday (July 17)

Tame Impala are airing their new album online in full.

The Australian band release their third LP ‘Currents’ on Friday (July 17), following on from 2012’s ‘Lonerism’ and 2010 debut ‘Innerspeaker’.

Speaking to NME recently, frontman Kevin Parker described the record as both “groove-based” and “club-friendly”.


“Listening to [our music] was very much a kind of headphone, solitary experience,” Parker said. “Which is cool, but I’ve moved on from that. I’ve always loved listening to music on my own, but there’s another side of me that is just fascinated by… like Goa trance, for example – just a rave on a beach in India, you know? Where there’s someone that’s spinning the music and it’s just this free-flowing continuous energy.”

“I wanted to make something that from the sound of it could be down at the club,” Parker added. “I just realised that I’d never heard Tame Impala played somewhere with a dancefloor or where people were dancing.”

Listen to the album in full right now at Noisey.

SEE ALSO: Tame Impala On New Album ‘Currents’: ‘The More I Explore, The More I Realise Boundaries Are Meant To Be Broken’

Pooneh Ghana
Tame Impala live on stage

The ‘Currents’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Let It Happen’
‘The Moment’
‘Yes I’m Changing’
‘The Less I Know The Better’
‘Past Life’
‘Cause I’m A Man’
‘Reality In Motion’
‘New Person, Same Old Mistakes’


Tame Impala will play a handful of UK and Ireland dates later this year. They are as follows:

Electric Picnic Festival (September 4)
End Of The Road Festival (5)
Glasgow Barrowland (8)
Liverpool Olympia (9)
Isle of Wight Bestival (10)

To check the availability of Tame Impala tickets and get all the latest listings, head to NME.COM/tickets.