Tame Impala to release new album later this year

The band's third LP will follow 2012's 'Lonerism' - which was previously crowned NME's Album of the Year

Tame Impala will release a new album later this year, it has been revealed.

The follow-up to ‘Lonerism’ – NME’s 2012 Album of the Year – has been confirmed by Consequence of Sound, who quote an email from the band’s management company which breaks the news of the forthcoming LP.

The release will be the band’s third album. Last year the band’s keyboardist Jay Watson hinted that the group’s new material would sound “less rock and more electronic”. Though keeping his cards close to his chest, he explained: “It’s probably gonna be less rock again and more electronic, even more than the last one. It’s gonna be awesome, everything he [frontman Kevin Parker] does is awesome.”

Last year saw the release of ‘Daffodills’, Mark Ronson’s collaboration with Kevin Parker, who is also credited on the songs ‘Leaving Los Feliz’ and ‘Summer Breaking’ on Ronson’s new album ‘Uptown Special’. The album comes out on January 25.

Meanwhile, Jay Watson’s other band, Pond, will release their sixth album, ‘Man It Feels Like Space Again’, later this year.