Tenacious D announce full details of new album ‘Rize Of The Fenix’

The band's follow-up to 'The Pick Of Destiny' will drop in May

Tenacious D have revealed all the details of their new album ‘Rize Of The Fenix’.

The duo, who consist of actor Jack Black and comedian Kyle Gass, will release the album on May 15. The album is the follow-up to 2006’s ‘The Pick of Destiny’ and 2001’s self-titled debut.

Dave Grohl, who has drummed on both of the band’s previous efforts, has once again contributed to the album.


The album has been produced by John Kimbrough and includes 13 songs in total. It was recorded at Kimbrough’s home in Los Angeles.

Tenacious D will play a UK show at this summer’s Download Festival, playing on a bill that is headlined by The Prodigy, Metallica and a reunited Black Sabbath. The festival takes place over the weekend of June 8-10 at Donington Park.

‘Rize Of The Fenix’ will also feature Big Talk bassist John Spiker.

The tracklisting for ‘Rize Of The Fenix’ is as follows:

‘Rize Of The Fenix’
‘Low Hangin’ Fruit’
‘Classical Teacher’
‘Deth Starr’
‘Flutes and Trombones’
‘Ballad of Hollywood Jack and the Rage Kage’
‘Rock Is Dead’
‘They Fucked Our Asses’
‘To Be The Best’