The Black Crowes reveal new album details

It's their first studio album in seven years

The Black Crowes have revealed the details of their first studio album in seven years.

The band will release ‘Warpaint’ – the followup to 2001’s ‘Lions’ – on March 4 worldwide via their own newly formed label Silver Arrow Records.

The album was produced and mixed by Paul Stacey at Allaire Studios in Woodstock, New York. It contains 11 tracks written by Chris and Rich Robinson, with the exception of ‘God’s Got It’, which was written by the Reverend Charlie Jackson.


The album features two new members – guitarist Luther Dickinson and keyboardist Adam MacDougall.

The title ‘Warpaint’ signifies “the revolution that could take place in all our souls,” said Chris Robinson in a statement.

The album tracklisting is:

‘Goodbye Daughters of the Revolution’

‘Walk Believer Walk’

‘O, Josephine’ ‘Evergreen’


‘We Who See The Deep’

‘Locust Street’

‘Movin’ On Down The Line’

‘Wounded Bird’

‘God’s Got It’

‘There’s Gold In Them Hills’

‘Whoa Mule’

Meanwhile, The Black Crowes have announced that they will perform ‘Warpaint’ in its entirety during a series of shows beginning on March 4. The complete list of dates and locations has not yet been announced.

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.