Morrissey’s favourite new band reveal debut album

There’s also a nationwide tour…

The Boyfriends, Morrissey’s support choice for his 2006 European tour, have announced details of their debut album.

‘The Boyfriends’ is out on October 2 and includes new single ‘Once Upon A Time’ and former releases ‘I Love You’ and ‘Adult Acne’.

Other songs included on the album include ‘Remember’ which is, according to singer Martin Wallace, about “how affection can transcend physical proximity” and ‘Wonders Never Cease’, written about “people who make their own entertainment”.


Speaking about album track ‘British Summer Time’, Wallace said: “I like to see young people enjoying themselves as long as they don’t do it too near to where I’m standing and I find that parks are one of the best places to observe such goings on at a safe distance. I wrote this song sat in Regents Park one sunny afternoon and simply made a note of everything I saw.”

The album’s full tracklisting is:

‘Brave Little Soldiers’

‘Speak Less And Listen’

‘British Summer Time’

‘A Fearless Heart’



‘Adult Acne’

‘Once Upon A Time’

‘Wonders Never Cease’

‘No Tomorrow’

‘I Love You’

‘There Is Always Hope’

The band are also set to embark on a UK tour to support the album’s release which calls at the following venues:

Stoke Underground (Club NME) (September 2)

Southampton Unit 22 (4)

Leicester The Charlotte (6)

Middlesbrough Empire (Club NME) (7)

Oldham Castle (Club NME) (9)

Edinburgh Cabaret Voltaire (11)

Aberdeen Tunnels (12)

Glasgow King Tut’s (13)

Nottingham Stealth (Club NME) (14)

London Koko (Club NME) (15)

Bilbao Santana (29)

Barcelona Razzmatazz (30)

Valencia Cormoran (October 1)

Madrid Joy (2)

For ticket availability go to NME.COM/Gigs.