NME.COM's ultimate guide to the party night of the year...

Gatecrasher and Cream are the latest ‘superclubs’ to confirm their line-ups for NEW YEAR’S EVE 2000. As with all events so far announced, ticket prices are far lower than the average £100 entry fee last year, which left many club nights either cancelled or half-full.

After last year’s 20,000 capacity event at the Sheffield Don Valley Stadium, Gatecrasher are this year staging an event at their Home venue. The Republic will be open from 9pm-6am and will feature guest slots from Judge Jules, Seb Fontaine, Sander Kleinenberg, Timo Maas, Scott Bond and Matt Hardwick. Tickets are £40.

Meanwhile Cream, who also hosted a large capacity tented event last year, will similarly be staying at their home residence, in this case Nation in Liverpool. DJs playing include Paul Oakenfold, Seb Fontaine, Timo Maas, Yousef and Paul Bleasdale, and tickets cost £45.


The only ‘superclub’ putting on an event of the scale of last year’s millennium celebrations looks to be Ministry of Sound, who were one of the only clubs to stay at Home last year. As previously announced on NME.COM, they have confirmed plans to hold a 16,000 capacity party on the site of the beleaguered Millennium Dome.

To read the story, Click here…

Ministry will be competing with a plethora of events in London. Alongside the already announced, Chemical Brothers‘ headlined Turnmills event in Docklands and the Primal Scream concert, home on Leicester Square have announced that The Chemical Brothers will be special guests alongside Steve Lawler and The Dope Smugglaz, though the price is still to be confirmed.

Fabric, meanwhile, are relying on regulars Doc Martin, Craig Richards and Terry Francis in Room One, James Lavelle, The Scratch Perverts and Touche in Room Two, while Bill Brewster and Jon Marsh take Room Three. Tickets are £35 and the club is open from 9pm-8am.

Finally, the Gainsborough Film Studios sees a more underground affair headlined by the infamous Detroit-based techno soundsystem and label Underground Resistance. Interstellar Fugitives, Mike Banks, Drexciya, Aztec Mystic, Suburban Knight, Perception, Deacon and Chaos are all in attendance, as are St Etienne‘s Bob Stanley, Barry 7 from Add N to (X) and Jarvis Cocker. Tickets are £30.

Stay tuned to NME.COM for the latest updates on the New Year celebrations.

You May Like