Prodigy, Chemical Brothers, and Puff Daddy confirm tracks for South Park album...

Prodigy, THE CHEMICAL BROTHERS, Puff Daddy and ELTON JOHN have all contributed exclusive tracks to the new South Park album.

Due out on November 23 through Columbia, ‘Chef Aid: The South Park Album’ also features new songs by Ozzy Osbourne, Wyclef Jean and Joe Strummer, as well as a duet between Meat Loaf and Isaac Hayes – who provides the voice for Chef in the cartoon – entitled ‘Tonight Is Right For Love’. Hayes, in his Chef guise, has also recorded four other songs.

The album has been recorded as the soundtrack for a special one-off South Park episode, where the children organise a benefit rock concert to raise money for Chef after he makes a “bad financial judgement” – possibly after making sweet love to a woman down by the fire. The album comes with a choice of two covers.


Prodigy have contributed a new mix of ‘Diesel Power’ to the album, a track originally featured on last year’s ‘Fat Of The Land’ album.

A spokesman for the band told NME: “I guess they just decided to do it ‘cos South Park is the coolest programme on television. They think it kicks ass!”

He also said that a remix of ‘Smack My Bitch Up’, featuring samples from various South Park characters, available on the Internet, was absolutely nothing to do with the South Park album or Prodigy themselves.

The Chemical Brothers and Wyclef Jean have also rerecorded or remixed album tracks, while Osbourne has teamed up with Ol’ Dirty Bastard and The Crystal Method for a version of Martha Reeves & The Vandellas’ ‘Nowhere To Run’.

However, Blur, All Saints and Green Day are not yet included on the track-listing, despite the fact that they were all commissioned to do songs for the project, as reported in NME earlier this year.

It is rumoured Blur were so pleased with their effort that they decided to keep it for their own new album, but it’s thought both the Green Day and All Saints tracks may yet be added to the album which is still being put together.

You May Like