The band say they're "a lot more open" on the follow-up to 'See This Through And Leave'...

Cooper Temple Clause have revealed exclusive details about their forthcoming second album which will be called ‘KICK UP THE FIRE, AND LET THE FLAMES BREAK LOOSE’.

Named after a Philip Larkin poem, ‘Kick Up The Fire…’, out on September 8, is the follow-up to the band’s 2002 debut ‘See Through This And Leave’ and was recorded in a self-built studio near Reading. The progress of the album was interrupted last year, after bassist Didz Hammond spent part of the sessions ‘shitting out of my sides’ in hospital after severe complications from the removal of his appendix.

“It sometimes got claustrophobic,” Didz said of working in the countryside. “Also it was either really hot or really cold. We used to arrange for Dan (Fisher, guitarist) to turn up hours before everyone else so he could warm it up. Luckily he didn’t catch onto that!”


Frontman Ben Gautrey told NME: “On the first album we were worried so much about the specifics. This time we’re a lot more open.”

The tracklisting is:

‘The Same Mistakes’

‘Promises, Promises’

‘New Toys’

‘Talking To A Brick Wall’


‘Into My Arms’

‘Blind Pilots’


‘Music Box’

‘In Your Prime’

‘Written Apology’

For a full track-by-track with the Cooper Temple Clause, get this week’s NME – out tomorrow (July 30).